A Summer of celebration at Inniscarra GAA

Well done to Joseph Enright and the Cork U14s on winning the Sonny Walsh tournament.

FE 18 P2 Hurling Championship Inniscarra 6 – 14, Blackrock 1 – 14. Inniscarra had a comprehensive victory over Blackrock in a very entertaining championship match at Caherlag. The first half was played at a frantic pace with Inniscarra facing a strong wind and at times heavy rain. Liam Ryan and Darragh Hughes were in control at midfield and Con O’Leary was magnificient at wing back. With James Buckley controlling the centre back position, the forwards had a plentiful supply of ball and they duly converted their chances. Owen McCarthy opened the scoring with a point and this was followed by three well taken goals by Michael O’Connell, after good work by Edward O’Connor, and two goals by captain Liam Buckley. Ardal O’Connell pointed a long range free after a foul on James Buckley, Owen McCarthy had his second point and good work by Liam Ryan led to a point by Padraig Holland. A long range free by Padraig Holland went all the way to the net and the half ended with points by Michael O’Connell and Owen McCarthy. Leading by 4 – 6 to 0 – 6 at half time, Inniscarra just needed to keep the Blackrock scoring to a minimum in the second half and the backs were very impressive in this half with the full back line of Ciaran Lombard, Cillian Murphy and Jack O’Sullivan clearing the danger on many occasions in front of ever reliable goalkeeper Dave Og Coleman. Two pointed frees by Ardal O’Connell was followed by a long range point by Con O’Leary.  Jamie O’Sullivan, who had a very impressive second half, sent a great ball upfield to set up Edward O’Connor for a point and Owen McCarthy then scored his fourth point. Blackrock then scored their only goal but Liam Buckley replied with his third goal for Inniscarra. A pointed free by Ardal O’Connell was followed by a beautifully taken goal by Mark Buckley, just after his introduction, after a clever pass by Liam Ryan. Another sub Sam Doyle got a lovely point before a pass by Sean Sheehan set up Liam Buckley for Inniscarra final score. Final score INNISCARRA 6 – 14, BLACKROCK 1 – 14. Scorers, Liam Buckley 3 – 1, Owen McCarthy 0 – 4, Ardal O’Connell 0 – 4, Padraig Holland 1 – 1,Michael O’Connell 1 – 1, Edward O’Connor 0 -1, Con O’Leary 0 – 1. Mark Buckley 1 – 0. Sam Doyle 0 – 1. Team, Dave Og Coleman, Ciaran Lombard, Cillian Murphy, Jack O’Sullivan, Jamie O’Sullivan, James Buckley,, Con O’Leary, Darragh Hughes, Liam Ryan, Edward O’Connor, Ardal O’Connell, Padraig Holland, Owen McCarthy, Michael O’Connell, Liam Buckley(c). Subs,Mark Buckley for Ml O’Connell, Liam Doyle for Liam Ryan, Bryan Linehan for P Holland, Sam Doyle for D Hughes, Sean Sheehan for A O’Connell, Evin Cunningham, Evan Kelly, David Kiely, Dylan Colgan.

FE 16 Challenge Cup Final Inniscarra 2 – 15, Ballygarvan 3 – 7. At Carrigaline on Monday evening Inniscarra overcame Ballygarvan to win the Fe-16 Hurling Premier 2 Challenge Cup Final. Inniscarra started very slowly and were a goal and three points down after 10 minutes and looked in trouble but gradually got into the game and scored the next goal and four points to lead by one. Mark Buckley scored the goal, followed by a point after good work by Darragh Murphy and Eric O’Callaghan. Next Sean Sheehan made a wonderful catch from a Ballygarvan puck out and put the ball straight between the posts. Good work by Fergal O’Leary then set up Padraig Holland for a point before Stephen Linehan finished to the net after a good delivery by Jack O’Sullivan. Mark Buckley scored another point and Padraig Holland converted a free, after a foul on Darragh Murphy, to leave the half time score Inniscarra  2  -  5,  Ballygarvan  2  -  4. The second half started like the first with Inniscarra slow to get going, conceding the first two points, before excellent work by Peter Sheehan set up Sean Leisk for a point. With ten minutes gone in the second half Inniscarra trailed by a point but then took over and registered ten points in succession, many of them top drawer. Excellent defending by Eoin O’Herlihy got the ball to Colin O’Leary and his pass to Fergal O’Leary set up the first point followed by Jack O’Sullivan pass to Sean Leisk for his second point. Sean Leisk then set up Fergal for another point with Mark Buckley scoring a beauty after a pass from Stephen Linehan. Good defending by Ronan Twomey and David Kiely led to Fergal’s third point and a long clearance by Evin Cunningham found Mark Buckley for a point. Peter Sheehan passed to Padraig Holland for a long range point and two further points followed by Stephen Linehan and Mark Buckley after good work by Neil Vaughan. Ballygarvan last score was a consolation goal with time almost up. Final score INNISCARRA  2  -  15, BALLYGARVAN  3  -  7. After the game the Challenge Cup was presented to Inniscarra captain Padraig Holland by Rebel Og representative Bernie O’Mahony. Scorers, Mark Buckley  1  -  5, Stephen Linehan  1  -  1, Fergal O’Leary  0  -  3, Sean Leisk  0  -  2, Padraig Holland  0  -  3, Sean Sheehan  0  -  1, Team,  Evin Cunningham,  Ronan Twomey,  David Kiely,  Eoin O’Herlihy,  Sean Sheehan,  Jack O’Sullivan,  Peter Sheehan,  Fergal O’Leary,  Darragh Murphy, Colin O’Leary, Padraig Holland,  Sean Leisk,  Stephen Linehan,  Mark Buckley, Eric O’Callaghan,  Subs, Neil Vaughan for Eric O’Callaghan,  David Hoare, Graeme Kelly, Liam O’Connor, John O’Connell, Dylan Colgan, Eoin Dinan, Oisin Morris.

he Inniscarra U12 team played in the Munster GAA u12 hurling blitz in the Gaelic Grounds. The tournament was run very efficiently where the boys got 4 games on the pitch against opposition from other Munster counties. First up was Ballylooby from Tipperary, Inniscarra dominated play for most of the game but conceded two soft goals near the end to come out on the wrong side of the scoreline. We then won the remaining games against St Brendan’s , Tarbert in North Kerry , Caherline from Limerick City and Smith O’Briens from Killaloe in Clare.  Inniscarra dominated these three games, showing great hurling skills and intensity across the pitch. The players were then treated to a stadium tour lead by Limerick player Gearoid Hegarty followed by a Supermacs! Hopefully members of the panel will play here again in the red of Cork in the future! In total 17 players travelled on day.. Odhran Lynch, Tom Coughlan , Adam Doyle , Con O’Mahoney, Tadhg Lyons , Donal Dineen , Jack Desmond , Michael Murphy, Ciaran Desmond, Dylan Costelloe, Daniel Murphy, Ciaran Gould , Tadhg O’Keeffe, Liam Leisk, Ross O’Donovan, Sean Linehan, Sean Connolly. Thanks to all parents who travelled on the day.