Excellence recognised at Coachford College annual awards

Headgirl Mary O’ Riordan and headboy Marc Dineen opened proceedings by welcoming Deputy Aindrias Moynihan to the Coachford College annual Awards Ceremony on Friday 24th November. The class of 2017 were recognised for their outstanding achievements in their Leaving Certificate Examination, and Mr Con Murphy presented Luke O’ Shea with the Trustees Award for achieving 601 points. He is now studying Medicine in U.C.C. Michalina Lewandowska as congratulated for receiving the All-Ireland scholarship sponsored by J.P. MacManus and presented to her by Uachtarán na hÉireann Michael D Higgins. Tributes were also paid to Junior Certificate students Aoife Riordan on her outstanding Junior Certificate results and Sean Barrett, who was awarded second place in Cork city and county and received a Silver Medal for the quality of his Junior Certificate Higher Level Metalwork Project. Transition year student of the year 2017 was presented to Scott Downey; Miriam Cotter, Eoghan Lehane, Jack O’ Mahony and Rian O’ Shea were honoured for their organisation of a dance off raising €3890 for Marymount Hospice; and Maeve Barrett and her team of third year girls were recognised for their promotion of Mental Health in the school through their poster campaign and a video which can be viewed on YouTube . The sporting success of the students was evident by the large number of students who received recognition including the Senior B Munster Football Champions, David Buckley who won the Junior GAA Sports Star of the year and Shane Tarrant who won the Senior GAA sports star of the year. The senior camogie player of the year was awarded to Aileen Hennessy, the Junior camogie player of the year was awarded to Ciara Ring, the U16 ½ camogie player of the year was awarded to Sinead McSweeney and Laura Buttimer was awarded first year player of the year. Special mention was also given to the Ciara McCarthy and Jenny Brew-Dinan who won another All Ireland medal with the Minor Cork ladies football team. The Cotter sisters, Shannon, Jennifer and Stephanie were honoured for their successes on the athletics field. Stephanie, in particular was recognised for her victory in the 800m women’s race at the renowned Leevale Open Sports on May 6th, her double victory at the Munster Schools Championship on May 20th in CIT and her gold medal success in the 1500m on the June Bank Holiday weekend, four days before she sat her Leaving Certificate Examination. She was congratulated by the staff of Coachford College for obtaining a full athletic scholarship to Adam State Colorado. Stephanie was the recipient of Student of the Year for her achievements, her success and her mature and pleasant disposition. The music department under the direction of Ms. Colette Kidney enthralled the audience throughout the evening. Rory Fox, Harry Menton, Cathal Crowley and Rory O’Callaghan performed their own composition ‘Imeacht gan teacht’ which won third prize at BEO 2017, a national Irish-Language song-writing competition as part of Oireachtas na Gaeilge, and the stars of the show were without doubt second year pupils, Abbie Healy and Éabha Donovan, who won the Faróige All-Ireland talent competition, for their rendition of Lily Allen’s ‘Somewhere only we know’.